Medical Capacity Building in Liberia

Through the Africa Mercy had to depart Africa in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Mercy Ships partnerships and programs have continued, running a range of training and capacity building programs this year on the continent.

The medical capacity building included training:

  • Thirty-seven individuals (primarily healthcare workers/mental health clinicians/social workers in Monrovia) in partnership with the Ministry of Health.
  • Forty-six spiritual leaders (Catholic and Evangelical) in Gbarnga in Bong County for a week with two partners.
  • Twenty people, including healthcare workers, police, spiritual leaders and bailiffs, participated in the training in partnership with the Ministry of Health.

 

The mental health training uses Dr. Lyn’s book called The Understanding People, Mental Health, and Trauma (UPMHT) throughout the training.

Mercy Ships received the following endorsement from a partner following the mental health training that was delivered in Gbarnga, Liberia:

I feel highly honoured to say some words of such a powerful mastermind book for humanity by Dr. Lyn Westman, who upon meeting her continues to be for me a ‘contagiously’ good encounter still wonderfully unfolding. The Understanding People, Mental Health, and Trauma (UPMHT) is a must ‘experience’ book, especially for persons interested in helping relationships. It proves easy to read, to learn and to apply in one’s life and others. It forms a solid bridge linking intellectual knowing and practical knowing. UPMHT is an amazingly powerful pedagogical tool that incarnates the reality of mental health and trauma to the level of every person – regardless of the individual’s origin, age, sex, race, culture, religion, tradition, status, etc. I am highly grateful to God to have met Dr. Lyn Westman and honoured to have experienced this book through her tutorship. Anyone searching for a clear, down-to-earth, and a real blend of knowledge, experience and wisdom book about helping self and/or others live a better and flourishing life in this our fallen world, I highly recommend you consider this book.

After receiving a request from our governmental partner, Mercy Ships received and shipped eight anesthesia machines with monitors and training tools. Mercy Ships will train 18 biomedical technicians in three blocks of two days on those machines (six per group). We were also ensuring that healthcare workers who will use the equipment know how to use them.

There will be an eight-week Biomedical Technician Training for the first nine participants in two blocks: 21 June – 16 July and 26 July – 20 August. Additionally, there will then be a second training program for the final nine participants that is scheduled to start in September 2021.

We are preparing to welcome an otolaryngologist (ENT) surgeon. There is no ENT surgeon in Liberia – as you can imagine, there is a great need, and we are very much looking forward to getting started! Our ENT surgeon will be mentoring general surgeons and providing surgeries at local facilities.

Global Mercy Origin Story

The Global Mercy™ Origin Story

On June 16, 2021, Mercy Ships celebrated the delivery of the Global Mercy™, meaning the official handover of the vessel from the shipyard.

Day of the Seafarer

Day of the Seafarer

On June 25th Mercy Ships celebrates Day of the Seafarer, and we want to show our deep appreciation for the maritime community.

Mercy Ships Crew Donation Mask

Africa Day

Celebrating Africa Day with Dr. Pierre M’Pelé: “We have to believe in Africa” For more than 30 years, Mercy Ships has been invited to multiple

Sea Trials GLM

New Mercy Ship, the Global Mercy™, Ready to Sail Around the Globe We are very excited to announce that our newest ship, the Global Mercy™,

Related Posts

Renforcement des capacités médicales au Liberia

Bien que l’Africa Mercy ait dû quitter l’Afrique en 2020 en raison de la COVID-19, les partenariats et les programmes de Mercy Ships se sont poursuivis, organisant cette année une série de programmes de formation et de renforcement des capacités sur le continent.

Formation sur la santé mentale en mai

Le renforcement des capacités médicales comprenait une formation pour :

  • Trente-sept personnes (principalement des travailleurs de la santé, des cliniciens en santé mentale et des travailleurs sociaux à Monrovia) en partenariat avec le ministère de la Santé.
  • Quarante-six chefs spirituels (catholiques et évangéliques) à Gbarnga dans le comté de Bong pendant une semaine avec deux partenaires.
  • Vingt personnes, dont des travailleurs de la santé, des policiers, des chefs spirituels et des huissiers, ont participé à la formation en partenariat avec le ministère de la Santé.

 

La formation sur la santé mentale utilise le livre du Dr Lyn intitulé « Understanding People, Mental Health, and Trauma (UPMHT) » (Comprendre les personnes, la santé mentale et les traumatismes) tout au long de la formation.

Mercy Ships a reçu l’approbation suivante d’un partenaire suite à la formation sur la santé mentale dispensée à Gbarnga, au Liberia :

Je me sens très honoré de dire quelques mots du livre puissant pour l’humanité du Dr. Lyn Westman. Depuis notre rencontre, la relation que nous avons continue d’être « contagieuse » et se déroule merveilleusement bien. Le livre « Understanding People, Mental Health, and Trauma (UPMHT) » est une expérience incontournable, en particulier pour les personnes intéressées par les relations d’aide. Il s’avère facile à lire, à apprendre et à appliquer dans sa vie et celle des autres. Il constitue un pont solide entre la connaissance intellectuelle et la connaissance pratique. L’UPMHT est un outil pédagogique incroyablement puissant qui incarne la réalité de la santé mentale et des traumatismes au niveau de chaque personne – indépendamment de son origine, de son âge, de son sexe, de sa race, de sa culture, de sa religion, de sa tradition, de son statut, etc.  Je remercie Dieu pour avoir rencontré le Dr Lyn Westman et je suis honoré d’avoir fait l’expérience de ce livre grâce à son tutorat. Si vous êtes à la recherche d’un livre clair, terre-à-terre, et d’un véritable mélange de connaissances, d’expérience et de sagesse pour vous aider vous-même et/ou les autres à vivre une vie meilleure et florissante dans ce monde déchu, je vous recommande vivement de considérer ce livre.

Formation biomédicale sur les appareils d’anesthésie

Après avoir reçu une demande de notre partenaire gouvernemental, Mercy Ships a reçu et expédié huit machines d’anesthésie avec des moniteurs et des outils de formation. Mercy Ships va former 18 techniciens biomédicaux en trois blocs de deux jours sur ces machines (six par groupe). Nous nous assurons également que les travailleurs de la santé qui utiliseront les appareils sachent comment les utiliser.

Il y aura une formation de technicien biomédical de huit semaines pour les neuf premiers participants, en deux blocs : 21 juin – 16 juillet et 26 juillet – 20 août. Il y aura ensuite un deuxième programme de formation pour les neuf derniers participants qui devrait commencer en septembre 2021.

Visite d’un professionnel de la santé

Nous nous préparons à accueillir un chirurgien oto-rhino-laryngologiste (ORL). Il n’y a pas de chirurgien ORL au Liberia. Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, il y a un grand besoin, et nous sommes très impatients de commencer ! Notre chirurgien ORL encadrera des chirurgiens généralistes et effectuera des interventions chirurgicales dans des établissements locaux.

Autres blogs

journee-internationale-de-la-francophonie

20 mars : Journée internationale de la francophonie

Aujourd’hui, nous célébrons la francophonie, la langue française, sa diversité culturelle, l’éducation, la formation, l’enseignement supérieur et la recherche en langue française. Avec 300 millions de locuteurs, soit 4 % de la population mondiale, le français est la cinquième langue la plus parlée au monde. Ce chiffre approchera les 700 millions en 2050 soit 8 % de la population mondiale, et 85 % de ces francophones vivront en Afrique du fait de la croissance démographique.

Articles connexes