Testing the waters

When a pandemic changes plans

Riley is a young writing professional from Vancouver who has been considering joining the work of Mercy Ships for eight years. He and his family made the life-changing discovery of what Mercy Ships is all about through the 60 Minutes program. Riley describes the impact of watching 60 Minutes as follows: “I had never heard of a charity that could have such a profound impact on individuals!” Both sight and dignity are restored.

“I consider myself to have an easy life. If I can help, why not do it?” – Riley

His plan was to save money to prepare to volunteer on board, but the pandemic accelerated his thinking. Circumstances allowed him to see that he was ready for a change. While working in the entertainment field, he felt the desire to move towards other professional goals but above all to respond to a need for meaning, to feel that his work contributes to the well-being of others. It is in this search to align profession and values that Riley finds himself today on the Global Mercy, our latest hospital ship. As he talks about his first interview as a writer, he says, “My sense of satisfaction was the strongest I’ve felt in a long time!”

Riley

Adjusting his sails

Since coming aboard, Riley has discovered an adaptability and resilience in himself that surprises him a bit. Life on board is constantly changing; people are leaving, others are arriving, there are multiple tasks to do, but Riley finds his rhythm and adjusts as needed. With the Global Mercy in its equipping phase, Riley has not yet had the chance to experience patient services first hand. However, he is looking forward to joining the Africa Mercy in the near future to learn a new role and to have the privilege of working with patients.

You can’t control the wind, but you can adjust the sails! – James Dean

Riley

A destination to discover

English being the language used on board but not the mother tongue of all the volunteers, he discovered that the language barrier was not a real limit to work together. His experience on board is now leading him to see how his professional skills combined with his recent learnings open doors to explore the field of humanitarian aid in communication. Enriched by his journey, Riley is not yet ready for a return to land. He has decided to extend his involvement until 2023.

To find out if Mercy Ships can be a part of your life journey, check out the opportunities on board: https://mercyships.ca/en/get-involved/volunteer/

Share

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest

Tester les eaux

Quand la pandémie change les plans

Riley est un jeune écrivain professionnel de Vancouver qui considérait depuis huit années se joindre à l’œuvre de Mercy Ships. C’est grâce à l’émission 60 minutes, que lui et sa famille ont fait la découverte marquante de ce qu’était Mercy Ships. Riley parle de l’impact de ce visionnement ainsi : « Jamais je n’avais entendu parler d’un organisme de bienfaisance qui pouvait avoir un impact si profond sur les individus. » La vue et la dignité sont restaurées!

« Je considère avoir une vie facile. Si je peux aider, pourquoi ne pas le faire? » – Riley

Son plan était de mettre de l’argent de côté pour se préparer à devenir bénévole à bord, mais la pandémie est venue accélérer sa réflexion. Les circonstances lui ont permis de voir qu’il était prêt à vivre un changement. Alors qu’il travaillait dans le domaine du divertissement, il sent l’envie de s’orienter vers d’autres objectifs professionnels mais surtout de répondre à un besoin de sens, de sentir que son travail contribue au bien-être des autres. C’est dans cette recherche d’aligner profession et valeurs que Riley se retrouve aujourd’hui sur le Global Mercy, notre tout nouveau navire-hôpital. Alors qu’il parle de sa première entrevue à titre de rédacteur, il dit : « Mon sentiment de satisfaction était le plus fort ressenti depuis bien longtemps! »

Riley Chow

Ajuster ses voiles

Depuis son arrivée à bord, Riley découvre en lui une capacité d’adaptation et une résilience qui le surprend un peu. La vie à bord est constamment en évolution ; des gens quittent, d’autres arrivent, les tâches à faire sont multiples, mais Riley trouve son rythme et s’ajuste selon les besoins. Le Global Mercy étant dans sa phase de préparation, Riley n’a pas encore eu la chance de vivre l’expérience directe des services aux patients. Toutefois, il se réjouit que sous peu, il pourra se joindre à l’Africa Mercy pour apprendre un nouveau rôle et ainsi avoir le privilège de côtoyer les patients.

On ne peut pas contrôler le vent, mais on peut ajuster les voiles! – James Dean

Riley

Une destination à découvrir

L’anglais étant la langue utilisée à bord mais non la langue maternelle des tous les bénévoles, il découvre à quel point la barrière de la langue n’est pas une réelle limite pour œuvrer ensemble. Son expérience à bord l’amène maintenant à voir comment ses aptitudes professionnelles combinées à ses récents apprentissages ouvrent des portes pour explorer le domaine de l’aide humanitaire en communication. Enrichi pour son périple, Riley n’est pas encore prêt pour un retour à terre. Il a décidé de prolonger son implication à bord.

Pour savoir si Mercy Ships peut faire partie de votre itinéraire de vie, découvrez les opportunités à bord : https://mercyships.ca/fr/sengager/devenir-benevole/

Partager

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur email
Partager sur reddit
Partager sur pinterest