Darryl Anderson Appointed as Interim National Director of Mercy Ships Canada

Darryl Anderson Appointed as Interim National Director of Mercy Ships Canada

The Board of Directors of Mercy Ships Canada is pleased to announce that Mr. Darryl Anderson, Managing Director, Wave Point Consulting Ltd, has been appointed as Interim National Director. Mr. Anderson was previously a Board Director of Mercy Ships Canada. See below for Mr. Anderson’s background and professional experience.

This regular part-time appointment is for an indeterminate period effective October 31, 2018.

In announcing this appointment, Marilyn Collette, Chair of the Board of Mercy Ship Canada said: “The Board felt that Darryl was the right person to lead the organization at this juncture and while the Board of Directors seeks to recruit a permanent National Executive Director”.

On behalf of the Board, Mrs. Collette thanked the outgoing National Director, Tim Maloney, for his work and dedication to Mercy Ships Canada over the past ten years, firmly establishing Mercy Ships’ Canadian office in Victoria and positioning it as an important charity in Canada. She also expressed her gratitude to the staff for their ongoing cooperation, understanding and professionalism during the transition period.

Mercy Ships Canada looks forward to expanding its collaboration with volunteers, staff, suppliers, donors, and stakeholders over the coming years as it readies itself for the expected growth and organizational expansion that will be driven by the impending arrival of a second hospital ship.

Mr. Anderson, as the Managing Director, Wave Point Consulting Ltd, is a Victoria resident. Other private sector leadership roles include: President and CEO of the Port Alberni Port Authority; and, Business Development Manager for the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority. Previous public sector involvement includes: Policy Manager, Rail, Intermodal & Marine for Alberta Transportation; Manager, Trade Policy and Business Intelligence for Alberta Energy department; and, Chief Harbour Authority Implementation for Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Darryl holds a Master of Business Administration (Maritime Management), a Bachelor of Arts Degree, Diploma in Urban Land Economics, and a Trade Certificate in Shipping and Marine Operations.

Marilyn Collette

National Board Chair

Global Mercy Origin Story

The Global Mercy™ Origin Story

On June 16, 2021, Mercy Ships celebrated the delivery of the Global Mercy™, meaning the official handover of the vessel from the shipyard.

Day of the Seafarer

Day of the Seafarer

On June 25th Mercy Ships celebrates Day of the Seafarer, and we want to show our deep appreciation for the maritime community.

Mercy Ships Crew Donation Mask

Africa Day

Celebrating Africa Day with Dr. Pierre M’Pelé: “We have to believe in Africa” For more than 30 years, Mercy Ships has been invited to multiple

Related Posts

Darryl Anderson est nommé directeur national par intérim à Mercy Ships Canada

Darryl Anderson nommé directeur national intérimaire de Mercy Ships Canada

Le conseil d’administration de Mercy Ships Canada est heureux d’annoncer la nomination de M. Darryl Anderson, directeur général de Wave Point Consulting Ltd, au poste de directeur national par intérim. M. Anderson était auparavant membre du conseil d’administration de Mercy Ships Canada. Voir ci-dessous le parcours et l’expérience professionnelle de M. Anderson.

Darryl Anderson

Cette nomination à temps partiel est pour une période indéterminée à compter du 31 octobre 2018.

En annonçant cette nomination, Marilyn Collette, présidente du conseil d’administration de Mercy Ship Canada, a déclaré : « Le conseil a estimé que Darryl était la bonne personne pour diriger l’organisation à ce stade et que le conseil d’administration cherche à recruter un directeur exécutif national permanent » .

Au nom du conseil, Mme Collette a remercié le directeur national sortant, Tim Maloney, pour son travail et son dévouement envers Mercy Ships Canada au cours des dix dernières années, en établissant fermement le bureau canadien de Mercy Ships à Victoria et en le positionnant comme une organisation caritative importante au Canada. Elle a également exprimé sa gratitude au personnel pour sa coopération, sa compréhension et son professionnalisme au cours de la période de transition.

Mercy Ships Canada espère élargir sa collaboration avec les bénévoles, le personnel, les fournisseurs, les donateurs et donatrices et les intervenants et intervenantes au cours des prochaines années, au moment où il se préparera à la croissance et à l’expansion organisationnelle attendues qui découleront de l’arrivée imminente d’un deuxième navire-hôpital.

M. Anderson, en tant que directeur général de Wave Point Consulting Ltd, est un résident de Victoria. Parmi les autres rôles de direction du secteur privé, citons : le président et chef de la direction de l’autorité portuaire de Port Alberni ; et directeur du développement des affaires de l’administration portuaire du Grand Victoria. La participation antérieure du secteur public comprend : gestionnaire des politiques, transport ferroviaire, intermodal et maritime pour Alberta Transportation ; responsable de la politique commerciale et de la veille stratégique pour le département Alberta Energy ; et mise en œuvre des administrations portuaires en chef pour Pêches et Océans Canada.

Darryl est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires (gestion maritime), d’un baccalauréat ès arts, d’un diplôme en économie des terrains urbains et d’un certificat professionnel en navigation et en opérations maritimes.

Marilyn Collette

Présidente du conseil national

Patient Vanya

Retrouver Vanya, des années après l’opération

En 2015, dans une salle d’opération à bord de l’Africa Mercy, à quai à Madagascar, le cours de la vie de Vanya a changé.
Des années se sont écoulées depuis le voyage de Vanya vers la guérison. Depuis, sa meilleure capacité à marcher lui a permis de retourner à l’école, où elle aimait étudier les sciences de l’environnement et découvrir le monde qui l’entoure.

Nouvelle mission pour l'Africa Mercy à Madagascar en 2024

Madagascar confirme le retour de l’Africa Mercy en 2024 

De récentes réunions entre le Ministère de la Santé malgache et Mercy Ships ont permis de planifier le retour du navire-hôpital l’Africa Mercy à Madagascar au début du mois de février 2024. Dans un premier temps, Mercy Ships prévoit d’amarrer l’Africa Mercy, d’une capacité de 16 572 GT, dans le port de Toamasina.

Articles connexes