From #FirstWorldProblems to #WorldProblemsFirst

Is your phone’s Face ID not working because of your face mask? Did your online order come in a day late? Or maybe, is your attempt at a do-it-yourself haircut driving you a little crazy? Then you can join the millions of people on social media using the hashtag: #firstworldproblems. And don’t get us wrong; we know the struggle is real. However, the perspective shift that comes with posting about these minor inconveniences is a great opportunity to ignite a conversation about another challenge: the lack of surgical healthcare in Africa. Through a new Mercy Ships campaign, we invite those who use the hashtag to be agents of change – hence the hashtag #WorldProblemsFirst.

Today there are as many as five billion people who do not have access to safe, affordable surgical and anesthesia services worldwide. This lack of basic healthcare has taken more lives than HIV/AIDS, malaria, and the coronavirus combined. A study by the Lancet Commission on Global Surgery suggests that 93% of people in sub-Saharan Africa cannot obtain basic surgical care. This inequality is the cause of death for 18.6 million people annually.  

This is the landscape Mercy Ships has been working for many years with multiple countries. And this is where we all have an opportunity to make an impact in Africa.

We will pique curiosity and prompt self-reflection by starting conversations with users who share their #firstworldproblems online. While users are showing the world that they are fortunate enough to “complain” about their struggle, we use this the opportunity to change the conversation from first world problems into world problems first, driving attention to the healthcare challenges in Africa.

With igniting the #WorldProblemsFirst conversation, we want to inspire people to identify with the humanity of those whose stories we tell, educate on how to address the healthcare challenges and move to take action.

Together we can work on bringing hope and healing to those who need it the most. You may choose to volunteer your time, donate financially or share the conversation on your social media. All are good and all are needed, but none can happen without an awareness of the issues at hand. If you want to be a part of changing lives, the time to act is now. Use the hashtag #WorldProblemsFirst on social media to help us ignite the conversation and inspire other people. Thank you!

Also: thank you to everyone who has made such a difference in Mercy Ships over the last 40 years. We appreciate all that you’ve done, and we are thrilled to welcome others who are passionate about putting #WorldProblemsFirst.

Learn more about #WorldProblemsFirst >>

Mercy Ships uses hospital ships to deliver free, world-class healthcare services, capacity building, and sustainable development to those with little access in the developing world. Founded in 1978 by Don and Deyon Stephens, Mercy Ships has worked in more than 55 developing countries, providing services valued at more than £1.2 billion and treating more than 2.7 million direct beneficiaries. Our ships are crewed by volunteers from over 50 nations, with an average of over 1,300 volunteers each year. Professionals including surgeons, dentists, nurses, healthcare trainers, teachers, cooks, seamen, engineers, and agriculturalists donate their time and skills. With 16 national offices and our Africa Bureau, Mercy Ships seeks to transform individuals and serve nations one at a time. For more information click on www.mercyships.ca

Africa Celebration

The Africa Celebration is a moment to pause and give thanks for 30 years of partnership, filled with stories of hope and healing.

Patient Sokhna

The Africa Mercy Welcomes First Patients on Board

Two years ago, when the Africa Mercy sailed from Senegal, hundreds of patients were left still waiting for their chance for surgery.

On February 1st, the ship returned to the port of Dakar to bring hope and healing to these patients and their families.

Related Posts

#WorldProblemsFirst

16 septembre 2020

Comment la campagne de Mercy Ships suscite une nouvelle conversation

L’identification faciale de votre téléphone ne fonctionne pas à cause de votre masque ? Votre commande en ligne est arrivée avec un jour de retard ? Ou peut-être que votre tentative de coupe de cheveux à faire soi-même vous rend un peu fou ? Dans ce cas, vous pouvez rejoindre les millions de personnes sur les réseaux sociaux en utilisant le hashtag : #firstworldproblems. Ne vous méprenez pas, nous savons que la lutte est réelle.

Toutefois, le changement de perspective qui accompagne la publication de ces inconvénients mineurs est une excellente occasion de lancer une conversation sur un autre défi : le manque de soins chirurgicaux en Afrique. Nous invitons celles et ceux qui utilisent le hashtag à être des agents du changement, d’où le hashtag : #WorldProblemsFirst.

Le problème mondial à portée de main : le milliard d’en bas en Afrique subsaharienne

Aujourd’hui, pas moins de cinq milliards de personnes dans le monde n’ont pas accès à des services de chirurgie et d’anesthésie fiables et abordables. Ce manque de soins de santé de base a fait plus de victimes que le VIH, le paludisme et le coronavirus réunis. Une étude de la Commission du Lancet sur la chirurgie mondiale, suggère que 93 % des personnes en Afrique subsaharienne ne peuvent pas obtenir de soins chirurgicaux de base. Cette inégalité est la cause du décès de 18,6 millions de personnes chaque année.

C’est sur ce paysage que Mercy Ships travaille depuis de nombreuses années avec plusieurs pays. Nous avons toutes et tous la possibilité d’avoir un impact en Afrique.

Une conversation qui démarre au bon moment

Nous éveillerons la curiosité et inciterons à la réflexion en engageant des conversations avec les personnes qui partagent leurs #firstworldproblems en ligne. Alors que les personnes montrent au monde qu’ils ont la chance de « se plaindre » de leur combat, nous profitons de cette occasion pour faire passer la conversation des problèmes mineurs du monde aux problèmes réels du monde, en attirant l’attention sur les défis des soins de santé en Afrique.

Inspirer et éduquer pour apporter l’espoir et la guérison

En lançant la conversation #WorldProblemsFirst, nous voulons inciter les gens à s’identifier à l’humanité de celles et ceux dont nous racontons l’histoire, les éduquer sur la manière de relever les défis en matière de soins de santé et les inciter à agir.

Rejoignez-nous et postez le hashtag #WorldProblemsFirst

Ensemble, nous pouvons nous unir et apporter l’espoir et la guérison à celles et ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. Vous pouvez choisir de donner de votre temps, de faire un don ou de partager la conversation sur vos réseaux sociaux. Tout cela est bon et nécessaire, mais rien ne peut se faire sans une prise de conscience des problèmes qui se posent. Si vous voulez contribuer à changer des vies, c’est le moment d’agir. Utilisez le hashtag #WorldProblemsFirst sur les réseaux sociaux pour nous aider à lancer la conversation et à inspirer d’autres personnes. MERCI pour votre soutien !

Aussi, merci à toutes celles et ceux qui ont fait une telle différence en soutenant Mercy Ships au cours des 40 dernières années. Nous apprécions tout ce que vous avez fait, et nous sommes ravis d’accueillir d’autres personnes qui ont à cœur de poster #WorldProblemsFirst.

Learn more about #WorldProblemFirst >>

À PROPOS DE MERCY SHIPS :

Mercy Ships utilise des navires-hôpitaux pour offrir des services de santé gratuits et de classe mondiale, un renforcement des capacités et un développement durable à celles et ceux qui ont peu d’accès dans les pays en voie de développement. Fondé en 1978 par Don et Deyon Stephens, Mercy Ships a travaillé dans plus de 56 pays en développement, fournissant des services évalués à plus de 1,6 milliard de dollars et traitant plus de 2,7 millions de bénéficiaires directs. L’équipage de nos navires est composé de volontaires de plus de 50 nations, avec une moyenne de plus de 1 300 volontaires chaque année. Des professionnels tels que des chirurgiens, des dentistes, des infirmières, des formateurs en soins de santé, des enseignants, des cuisiniers, des marins, des ingénieurs et des agronomes font don de leur temps et de leurs compétences. Avec ses 16 bureaux nationaux et son bureau en Afrique, Mercy Ships cherche à transformer des vies et à servir les nations une à la fois. Pour plus d’informations, cliquez sur www.mercyships.ca/fr/