Mercy Ships Canada Mandate Letter

Mercy Ships Canada Mandate Letter

Mr. Darryl Anderson, Executive Director
Mercy Ships Canada
Victoria, BC

March 11, 2020

Dear Mr. Anderson:

This past year, as with all others, has been a year of change. Yet we have commitments to continue to contribute to the goals of Mercy Ships. In a time of ambitious growth that is foreshadowed by the arrival of the m/v Global Mercy, we are committed to thriving through creativity in our shared work together.

The Board of Mercy Ships Canada has placed a strong emphasis on delivering results. As Chair, I am accountable for delivering on these requirements. To help fulfill your accountabilities, all staff will report and take direction from you.

Mercy Ships Canada is committed to pursuing its goals with a renewed sense of alignment with the efforts of our international Mercy Ships colleagues. Your mandate is to work collaboratively across Mercy Ships, with our partners, donors, volunteers, board members, and staff to:

  • Foster a thriving performance-based accountable organizational culture that is consistent with the unique Christian vision, mission and values of Mercy Ships;
  • Mobilize French and English speaking Canadians to volunteer their service onboard the m/v Africa Mercy and m/v Global Mercy as the second hospital ship prepares and enters into service;
  • Refine and strengthen the financial, risk management and administrative capacity of Mercy Ships Canada;
  • Build organizational capacity for increased national donor momentum and revenue growth, including the value of the contributed services of the Canadian volunteer crew.

In fulfilling your mandate, you will lead the organization in a manner that is consistent and aligned with the Mercy Ships Canada Mercy Ships Umbrella Agreement, License Agreement and Joint Programs Agreement.

I encourage you to develop performance measures that can be used to effectively track and report on the progress of the priorities identified above using a Balanced Scorecard approach.

I expect the work and conduct of Mercy Ships Canada to reflect our shared commitment to an open and honest charity, that is accountable to Canadians, lives up to the highest ethical standards, and applies the utmost care and prudence in the handling of our donor funds. Your leadership decisions will help ensure that the Mercy Ships Canada team meets the Canada Revenue Agency fundraising expenditures requirements.

This letter is also intended to serve as the basis of an ongoing dialogue between the Board and Management. I recognize that other issues will arise and trust that you will engage constructively and add priorities to this mandate as appropriate.

I know that I can count on you and the staff to fulfill these commitments and priorities of the Board. On behalf of the entire Board, we look forward to working together in the year ahead.

Original signed by
John Treleaven
Mercy Ships Canada Board Chair

Mission Madagascar

The Africa Mercy Arrives in Madagascar to Bring Hope and Healing Anew

Freshly refitted hospital ship, the upgraded Africa Mercy® has arrived at the island nation to build on the charity’s longstanding collaboration and will provide specialized surgeries in various fields, including maxillofacial and ear nose and throat, general, pediatric specialized general, pediatric orthopedic, cataract surgery, and reconstructive plastics. 

Patient Vanya

Reuniting with Vanya, Years After Surgery

In 2015, in an operating room on board the Africa Mercy while docked in Madagascar, the course of Vanya’s life changed.
Years have now passed since Vanya’s journey toward healing. In the time since, her improved ability to walk allowed her to return to school, where she loved studying environmental science and learning about the world around her.

Kadidja

Kadidja: A Future as Bright as her Smile

At Mercy Ships Canada, we serve those who have lost hope, bringing healing and transformation. Our volunteers, inspired by their faith, work selflessly to perform surgeries that renew not only bodies but also faith and hope. This Christmas, be a part of the miracle by making a donation to Mercy Ships Canada. Your contribution will help renew faith and offer a second chance at life. Together, we can make a significant impact on those who have suffered for too long.

Related Posts

Lettre de mandat de Mercy Ships Canada

20 avril 2020

M. Darryl Anderson, directeur exécutif
Mercy Ships Canada
Victoria, C.-B.

11 mars 2020

Cher M. Anderson :

Cette année, comme toutes les autres, a été une année de changement. Pourtant, nous avons pris l’engagement de continuer à contribuer aux objectifs de Mercy Ships. Dans une période de croissance ambitieuse annoncée par l’arrivée du Global Mercy, nous nous engageons à prospérer grâce à la créativité dans notre travail commun.

Le conseil d’administration de Mercy Ships Canada a mis l’accent sur l’obtention de résultats. En tant que président, je suis responsable de la réalisation de ces exigences. Pour vous aider à remplir vos responsabilités, tout le personnel vous rendra des comptes et prendra ses instructions.

Mercy Ships Canada s’engage à poursuivre ses objectifs avec un sens renouvelé de l’alignement et avec les efforts de nos collègues internationaux de Mercy Ships. Votre mandat est de travailler en collaboration avec nos partenaires, donateurs et donatrices, bénévoles, membres du conseil d’administration et du personnel de Mercy Ships :

– Encourager une culture organisationnelle prospère, basée sur la performance et la responsabilité, qui soit en accord avec la vision, la mission et les valeurs chrétiennes uniques de Mercy Ships ;
– Mobiliser les Canadiens et Canadiennes francophones et anglophones pour qu’ils s’engagent bénévolement à bord de l’Africa Mercy et du Global Mercy alors que le deuxième navire-hôpital se prépare à entrer en service ;
– Affiner et renforcer la capacité financière, administrative et de gestion des risques de Mercy Ships Canada ;
– Renforcer les capacités organisationnelles pour accroître l’élan des donateurs et donatrices nationaux et la croissance des revenus, y compris la valeur des services fournis par l’équipage bénévole canadien.

Dans l’accomplissement de votre mandat, vous dirigerez l’organisation d’une manière qui soit cohérente et alignée avec l’accord-cadre, l’accord de licence et l’accord sur les programmes conjoints de Mercy Ships Canada Mercy Ships.

Je vous encourage à développer des mesures de performance qui peuvent être utilisées pour suivre et rendre compte efficacement des progrès et des priorités identifiées ci-dessus, en utilisant une approche de tableau de bord équilibré.

J’attends de Mercy Ships Canada que son travail et sa conduite reflètent notre engagement commun pour une charité ouverte et honnête, qui soit responsable devant les Canadiens et Canadiennes, qui respecte les normes éthiques les plus élevées, et qui applique le plus grand soin et la plus grande prudence dans la gestion des fonds de nos donateurs et donatrices. Vos décisions de leadership contribueront à assurer que l’équipe de Mercy Ships Canada respecte les exigences de l’Agence du revenu du Canada en matière de dépenses liées aux collectes de fonds.

Cette lettre est également destinée à servir de base à un dialogue permanent entre le conseil d’administration et la direction. Je reconnais que d’autres questions se poseront et je suis convaincu que vous vous engagerez de manière constructive et que vous ajouterez des priorités à ce mandat, le cas échéant.

Je sais que je peux compter sur vous et sur le personnel pour respecter ces engagements et ces priorités du conseil d’administration. Au nom de l’ensemble du conseil d’administration, nous nous réjouissons de travailler ensemble au cours de l’année à venir.

Salutations distinguées,

Original signé par John Treleaven

Président du conseil d’administration de Mercy Ships Canada

Profil de Darryl Anderson (document en anglais)