Mercy Ships Announces the Global Mercy™, World’s Largest NGO Hospital Ship

According to the Lancet Global Surgery 2030 Report, over 16 million people die each year due to lack of surgical care; Mercy Ships is building a response to this world problem for the future. The organization aims to increase its work with partner nations in Africa to help meet this challenge. To this end, Mercy Ships announces the forthcoming launch of a new hospital ship!

The Ship

The Global Mercy™ will deliver a safe and clean environment to various African nations, providing help and resources from some of the most well-trained physicians in the world. Over the vessel’s 50 year expected lifespan, it is estimated that more than 150,000 lives will be changed on board through surgery alone.

The 174-meter, 37,000-ton ship will have six operating rooms and house over 600 volunteers from around the globe representing many disciplines including surgeons, maritime crew, cooks, teachers, electricians, the host staff and more. The ship will also feature a 682-seat auditorium, student academy, gymnasium, pool, café, shop and library – all of which have been designed to accommodate up to 950 crew on board when docked in port.

The ship is still under construction. The Global Mercy™ is expected to start its first field service in Africa in 2022.

Global Mercy

Layout of the new ship:

Ship Specifications:

Length: 174 m Gross Tonnage: 37’000
Breadth: 28.6 m Decks: 12
Draft: 6.1 m Main Engines: 4 x Warsila 6L32 with 2 X ABB Azipods

Who is in charge of what:

Built by:Xingang Shipyard (CSSC) – Tijanjin, China
Project management:Stena RoRo – Gothenburg, Sweden
Construction design:Deltamarin – Turkeu, Finnland
Brokerage:BRS, Genf
Surveyed by:Lloyd’s Register – UK
Flagged:Malta

The Hospital

The hospital area is 7,000 m2. In addition to providing surgeries, the Global Mercy™ will be outfitted with state-of-the-art training spaces including a simulation lab with virtual and augmented reality, mannequins and other training tools and simulated post-op care space, which allow trainers to simulate local conditions and limitations in order to teach best practices in low-resource environments.

The Global Mercy™ will join the current flagship Africa Mercy, more than doubling the impact of volunteers and services provided by Mercy Ships.

Mercy Ships Canada Celebrates Accreditation Anniversary

Hospital wards – Deck 4

Surgical suite – Deck 3

Crew facilities include:

Auditorium:682 seatsGymnasium
Academy:125 studentsCafe & Shop
Patient Capacity:199 volunteersPool
Surgical Suite:6 operating roomsLibrary

All pre-operative and post-operative work include:

Radiologywith X-Ray & CT Scan
Screening/Admissions 
Rehab 
Outpatient Care 

Training spaces include:

Simulation Lab with virtual and augmented reality
Simulated Post op Care Space
Mannequins & Other Training Tools

FAQ

According to the Lancet Global Surgery 2030 Report, an estimated number of 16.9 million people die yearly due to lack of access to surgical care. Over 93 percent of the population of sub-Saharan Africa do not have access to safe and timely surgery.

As COVID-19 threatens the stability of already fragile healthcare systems globally, the need to provide basic life-saving care is greater than ever, especially in low-to-middle income countries

Over 50% of the world’s population lives within 100 miles of the coast. Our ships deliver a state-of-the-art hospital to port cities, providing a controlled, safe and clean environment for patients and volunteers.

Energy-efficient LEDs in light fixtures. Low sulfur marine fuels help reduce contaminants. Sailing at low speeds between ports to reduce carbon emissions. Complying to international (MARPOL 73-78) standards, with regulate what ships do with waste, oil, sewage, garbage and air pollution.

Mercy Ships currently complies with many maritime industry standards that regulate what the ships do with waste, oil, sewage, garbage and air pollution — one of which is the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships Maritime Pollution (MARPOL 73-78) standards. Additionally, to lower its CO2 footprint, Mercy Ships utilizes marine fuels that meet the International Maritime Organization (IMO) 0.5% Sulphur cap – which helps reduce carbon emissions. Additionally, the ships also sail at low speeds between ports.

The simulation lab will allow trainers to simulate local conditions & limitations in order to teach best practices in low-resource environments.

Training opportunities include:

  • Post-op scenario training for nursing teams
  • Surgical technical teams basic skills training
  • Basic surgical skills training to prepare trainees for live surgical experience
  • Live surgical mentoring in selected high demand, elective procedures

Download the full detail on the Global Mercy

Global Mercy presentation

Technical information about our new ship

Watch the Global Mercy construction

Play Video

“I applaud the Mercy Ships in their efforts of transformational development as they make a lasting difference in a world of need"

"During my 3-week absence from Hopital Be (CHUT), the men continued to maintain cleanliness by giving the dept a thorough clean every morning. They have rotated almost all of their instrument sets through a rust remover solution, followed by a diligent scrubbing, which has removed years of soil build up. One of the men commented that the OR staff thought the hospital had received new instruments. Once they realized the reason for their shiny instruments was thanks to proper cleaning, they commended the men for doing a great job. This has been really encouraging for the men, and as a result I've noticed an improvement in their attention and engagement in the training. It is also encouraging for us to see these new changes being embraced and applied."

The Global Mercy

SHARE

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Filtering & treating AC condensate water for technical use will reduce potable water use by approximately 50%.

Ship systems provide reliable and efficient power, clean water, and air conditioning for the hospital and crew.

High efficiency air conditioning systems reduce total energy consumption by approximately 15%.

641 Crew capacity: Medical, Technical, Non-tech/Non-med & Family.

Ship services are designed to host up to 950 people including local day-crew.

Hospital area is 7,000 m2.

Related content

Mercy Ships présente le Global Mercy™, le plus grand navire-hôpital civil du monde.

Selon le rapport du Lancet sur la chirurgie dans le monde à l’horizon 2030, plus de 16 millions de personnes meurent chaque année en raison du manque de soins chirurgicaux. Mercy Ships s’efforce de répondre à ce problème mondial pour l’avenir. L’ONG vise à accroître son travail avec les pays partenaires en Afrique pour aider à relever ce défi. Pour y parvenir, Mercy Ships annonce le lancement de son nouveau navire-hôpital !

I – Le navire

Le Global Mercy™ offrira un environnement fiable et propre aux nations africaines, en fournissant l’aide et les ressources de certains des médecins les mieux formés au monde. Au cours des 50 prochaines années, on estime que plus de 150 000 vies seront transformées à bord du nouveau navire, rien que par la chirurgie.

Le navire est toujours en cours de construction. Le Global Mercy™ devrait commencer son premier service sur le terrain en Afrique en 2022.

Plan du nouveau navire :

Spécifications du navire :

Longueur: 174 m Tonnage brut: 37’000
Largeur : 28.6 m Ponts: 12
Tirant d’eau: 6.1 m Moteurs principaux : 4 x Warsila 6L32 with 2 X ABB Azipods

Qui est en charge de quoi :

Construit par :Xingang Shipyard (CSSC) – Tijanjin, Chine
Gestion de projet :Stena RoRo – Gothenburg, Suède
Conception de construction :Deltamarin – Turkeu, Finlande
Courtage:BRS, Genève
Société de surveillance:Lloyd’s Register – Angleterre
Immatriculé à:Malte

II – L’ hôpital

La superficie de l’hôpital est de 7 000 m2. En plus de fournir des opérations chirurgicales, le Global Mercy™ sera équipé d’espaces dédiés à la formation, notamment un avec un laboratoire de simulation avec réalité virtuelle et augmentée, des mannequins et d’autres outils de formation, ainsi qu’un espace de soins post-opératoires simulés, qui permettent aux formateurs de simuler les conditions locales et leurs limitations afin d’enseigner les meilleures pratiques dans des environnements à faibles ressources.

Le Global Mercy™ rejoindra l’Africa Mercy, pour ainsi plus que doubler l’impact des bénévoles et des services fournis par Mercy Ships.

Salles d’hôpital – Pont 4

Bloc opératoire – Pont 3

Les installations de l’équipage comprennent :

Auditoire:682 seatsGymnasium
Academy:125 studentsCafe & Shop
Patient Capacity:199 volunteersPool
Surgical Suite:6 operating roomsBibliothèque

Tous les travaux pré- et post-opératoires comprennent :

Radiologie : avec rayons X et scanne
Dépistage/Admissions
Rééducation
Soins ambulatoires

Les espaces de formation comprennent :

  • Laboratoire de simulation avec réalité virtuelle et augmentée
  • Espace de soins postopératoires simulé
  • Mannequins et autres outils de formation

FAQ

elon le rapport du Lancet sur la chirurgie dans le monde à l’horizon 2030, on estime que 16,9 millions de personnes meurent chaque année en raison du manque d’accès aux soins chirurgicaux. Plus de 93 % de la population d’Afrique subsaharienne n’a pas accès à une chirurgie fiable et rapide.

Alors que la COVID-19 menace la stabilité de systèmes de santé déjà fragiles dans le monde entier, la nécessité de fournir des soins de base pour sauver des vies est plus grande que jamais, en particulier dans les pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire.

Des LED à haut rendement énergétique dans les luminaires. Des carburants marins à faible teneur en soufre pour réduire les contaminants. Naviguer à faible vitesse entre les ports pour réduire les émissions de carbone. Respecter les normes internationales (MARPOL 73-78), qui réglementent ce que les navires font des déchets, des huiles, des eaux usées, des ordures et de la pollution atmosphérique.

Des LED à haut rendement énergétique dans les luminaires. Des carburants marins à faible teneur en soufre pour réduire les contaminants. Naviguer à faible vitesse entre les ports pour réduire les émissions de carbone. Respecter les normes internationales (MARPOL 73-78), qui réglementent ce que les navires font des déchets, des huiles, des eaux usées, des ordures et de la pollution atmosphérique.

Mercy Ships se conforme actuellement à de nombreuses normes de l’industrie maritime qui réglementent ce que les navires font des déchets, de l’huile, des eaux usées, des ordures et de la pollution atmosphérique – dont les normes de la Convention internationale pour la prévention de la pollution par les navires (MARPOL 73-78). De plus, pour réduire son empreinte CO2, Mercy Ships utilise des carburants marins qui respectent le plafond de 0,5 % de soufre de l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI), ce qui contribue à réduire les émissions de carbone. En outre, les navires naviguent également à faible vitesse entre les ports.

Le laboratoire de simulation permettra aux formateurs de simuler les conditions et les limites locales afin d’enseigner les meilleures pratiques dans les environnements à faibles ressources.

Les possibilités de formation comprennent :

-Formation aux scénarios post-opératoires pour les équipes infirmières ;
-Formation aux compétences de base des équipes techniques chirurgicales ;
-Formation aux compétences chirurgicales de base pour préparer les stagiaires à l’expérience chirurgicale en direct ;
-Mentorat chirurgical en direct pour certaines procédures électives à forte demande.

Téléchargez le détail complet du Global Mercy

Présentation du Global Mercy

Informations techniques de notre nouveau navire.

Regardez la construction du Global Mercy en vidéo !

Lire la vidéo

The Global Mercy

PARTAGER

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur whatsapp

Le filtrage et le traitement de l’eau de condensation de la climatisation pour l’utilisation technique réduira la consommation d’eau potable d’environ 50%.

Les systèmes du navire fournissent une alimentation électrique fiable et efficace, de l’eau propre et la climatisation pour l’hôpital et l’équipage.

 

Les systèmes de climatisation à haute efficacité réduisent la consommation totale d’énergie d’environ 15 %..

Capacité de 641 membres d’équipage : Médical, technique, non-technique/non-médical et famille.

Les services du navire sont conçus pour accueillir jusqu’à 950 personnes, y compris l’équipage de jour local.

La superficie de l’hôpital est de 7 000 m2.

Contenu connexe